On Friday June 12, 2015 the Iowa Pharmacy Association hosted an awards dinner in conjunction with their annual meeting. Iowa Pharmacy Association’s most prestigious award was awarded to Richard Hartig.

The Bowl of Hygeia Award provides special recognition to a pharmacist who has made considerable contributions in the area of community service. The award is co- sponsored by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations and the American Pharmacists Association. The award is part of a national awards program which recognizes one pharmacist from each state for outstanding community service. It is award that recognizes a pharmacist has enjoyed the rewards that the profession delivers to one personally and gives back to the community.

This year, Richard Hartig was presented with this award. Dick was not aware that he was to receive this award and was truly shocked and humbled when his name was announced at the close of the ceremony